New Zealand Is Now Officially Part of EU Digital COVID-19 Certificate System

After meeting all the requirements to become part of the main system used for travel in Europe, the EU Commission has announced that New Zealand has officially joined the EU Digital COVID-19 Certificate.

“We now accept COVID-19 certificates issued by New Zealand! And New Zealand recognises our #EUCovidCertificate,” the European Commission revealed on its official Twitter account on November 15.

The newly made announcement establishes that the COVID certificates that are issued by New Zealand’s authorities will now be recognised under the same conditions as the EU Digital COVID-19 Certificates issued by EU and Schengen Area countries.

This means that citizens of New Zealand can travel to the EU Member States and all the other countries that are also connected to the EUDCC without having to follow strict entry rules as long as they hold a vaccination or recovery certificate.

New Zealanders who hold a negative COVID-19 test result that was taken recently are also eligible to travel within the EU without being subject to additional entry rules, reports.

Similarly, the authorities of New Zealand should also keep relaxed entry rules for incoming EU and third-country travellers that hold the EU Digital COVID-19 Certificate

The decision of the EU Commission to now recognise COVID Certificates issued in New Zealand was welcomed and appreciated by the authorities of New Zealand.

“Great news! Vaccination certificates from Aotearoa New Zealand Flag of New Zealand are now connected to the EU Digital COVID Certificate (EUDCC) system. COVID-19 certificates issued by NZ and EU DCC countries are recognised as equivalent. Many thanks to the EU Commission for your cooperation,” the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade of New Zealand said.

Except for New Zealand, three other third countries – Georgia, Moldova, Serbia – also joined the EU Digital COVID Certificate yesterday.

Commenting on the decision to add New Zealand, Georgia, Moldova, and Serbia to the system, the EU Commissioner for Justice, Didier Reynders, said that the Commission would continue its efforts to strengthen travellers’ confidence regarding travel inside and outside the EU.

“Countries wanting to join the EU system keep on growing. This boosts confidence in safe travel inside and outside the EU,” the Commission added.

Apart from New Zealand and the other three countries that have joined the system yesterday, another 11 countries are also connected to the EUDCC gateway. These countries are Albania, Armenia, the Faroe Islands, Israel, Morocco, New Zealand, North Macedonia, Panama, Turkey, Ukraine, and the UK. Armenia and the UK have just recently joined the system.

Previously, informed that 12 EU countries now recognise Covaxin as valid proof of immunity for travel. Covaxin has been approved for use by the World Health Organization.


Article from